I Stand With the Ragnone Plant

Just when the Flint River started earning back its reputation, one pipe failure led to 1,000 gallons of sewage leaking into it Saturday, April 25.

The spill occurred when a contractor working at the Anthony Ragnone Treatment Plant caused a pipe failure that led to 42,000 gallons spewing out all over the grounds of the Montrose facility.

I’m sure the fish swimming along those banks didn’t even notice the sewage leak. They’re a hardened breed, those Flint River fish.

All jokes aside, I want to know how they retained 41,000 gallons of partially-treated sewage. Controlling 97.6 percent of the spill is outstanding, especially when placed beside the other Genesee County water treatment failures.

I’m sure that contractor was mortified when he heard that pipe blow and smelled the telltale aroma of a nice chemical-crap cocktail wafting over the grounds.

My biggest concern is the plant’s PR. Very few people actually notice a water plant, and even fewer will hold it in high regard after this debacle.

I think the overwhelmingly obvious move is to appreciate our water plants more.

Water treatment plants are like kickers: we only notice them if we catch them slipping.

The Ragnone Plant (hell of a name, by the way) got caught slipping BIG TIME, and it’s unfortunate since the plant’s been killing it otherwise.

I say we pick a day when quarantine is over and wear T-shirts celebrating the plant. Maybe they can say “Ragnone is No. 1” or “Ragnone Rocks.”

Think of the look on those workers’ faces when we all show up with signs and streamers to commend their thankless work.

Just remember to wear your lawnmowing shoes since that yard is most certainly still covered in the feces and urine of everyone that plant services.

Best wishes go out to the people that work at the plant. Don’t let one missed field goal ruin your career.

Published by Connor Earegood

I am a high school student and aspiring amateur journalist. With more than 200 works published on The Eclipse, my high school's student newspaper, I love covering sports, arts and entertainment, and news. In addition, three of my stories have earned Best of SNO honors and were published on Student Newspapers Online's national news site. Feel free to comment on my work to help me grow.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started