Rumble in Ontario: January 15 NHL Preview

Well folks, day three of the NHL regular season kicks off at 7 p.m. With only five games tonight, I might be able to get some sleep. Maybe? OK nevermind, I’ll just stay up playing Rocket League.

Toronto Maple Leafs at Ottawa Senators
Tonight’s Golden Jersey goes to the Sens game as Matt Murray will take on Freddie Andersen. I expect this game to be a grudge match, especially after the Leafs’ OT thriller against the Habs the other night. Tim Stuetzle and Evgenii Dadonov will likely play on the Sens’ second line, while former Leaf Connor Brown will face off against his former team. Brown historically plays his heart out against the Leafs, putting up a goal and an assist in the past three games against them. Expect him to be an unexpected X-factor on the Sens’ third line. The Leafs will win this game by exploiting Ottawa’s weak center depth and forcing mistakes upon a young Ottawa corps. Brady Tkachuk will be in full form against a more physical Toronto squad. Look for some chippiness right off of the opening faceoff.
Prediction: 4-2, Leafs

St. Louis Blues at Colorado Avalanche
After Jordan Binnington and the Blues shocked a rusty Avs squad Wednesday night, this game stood out to me as a potential dark horse for game of the week. Silver Jersey all the way. The deep Avs roster will look to redeem itself after its disappointing outing. I wouldn’t be shocked to see them up the physical game that St. Louis dominated last game. Sammy Blais earned a two-game suspension for a head hit on Devon Toews. This game, like the one in Ottawa, will be as abrasive as the roof of that Hot Wheels car you wrecked out on the sidewalk. Don’t lie, I know you did it. Expect Gabriel Landeskog to play like the gamer he is and direct the play whenever he sees the ice. I am glad this game will be unrivaled for airtime because it deserves attention as a measuring stick to determine if the Avs hype matters. Just like that beat up Hot Wheels car, this game doesn’t look like much but it will be an important development for both talented squads.
Prediction: 3-2 OT, Blues

Pittsburgh Penguins at Philadelphia Flyers
OK, I was wrong to shit on the Pens before the first game. I admit it. But dammit they’re only relevant because of soon-to-be silver fox Sidney (the Kidney) Crosby. The Pens outplayed all expectations I had for them Wednesday night. Sure they lost, but that game was close for a long, long time. Even so, a collapse in net was to blame, not necessarily the entire roster. Mike Sullivan made an oddly positive post about the blessings of losing his cat (All jokes aside, RIP kitty), so maybe he can coach that positivity into the Pens after losing their opener to a 20-second, two-goal collapse. The Bronze Jersey goes to this game partly due to limited competition, but also because I want to see Tristan Jarry redeem himself after a piss-poor showing Wednesday night. I feel bad for Yinzers after the Steelers’ catastrophe and subsequent drama. However, they should get used to disappointment as I don’t see this Pens team competing tonight against Carter Hart and the Broadstreet Bullies (not PC anymore? Fine, Broadstreet Brash Boys).
Prediction: 5-2, Flyers

Published by Connor Earegood

I am a high school student and aspiring amateur journalist. With more than 200 works published on The Eclipse, my high school's student newspaper, I love covering sports, arts and entertainment, and news. In addition, three of my stories have earned Best of SNO honors and were published on Student Newspapers Online's national news site. Feel free to comment on my work to help me grow.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started