Red Wing Report: Predicting the 2021-22 Defense

In my last article, I covered how I think the offense will shape up during the season. Jonatan Berggren may have forced me to eat my words by notching two assists in the prospect tournament. We will see if that turns into a scoring touch that Detroit would rather utilize at the NHL level. It’s a no-doubter that he gets that shot in training camp.

This time around, I’m going to attack the defense (Not that way, Nick Leddy would kick my ass). This corps will find itself shifting all season, so I will try to pinpoint the opening night lineup instead. God knows Blashill doesn’t believe in pairings.

Pairing 1: Danny DeKeyser — Filip Hronek

This seems like the most sure lock in my eyes. It’s a mix of veteran presence and youthful creativity. Both players might be the best defensemen on this roster (Assuming a healthy DK. I refuse to hold his injured play stats against him).

DeKeyser, simply put, has the worst injury luck you could imagine. I don’t know what Hellhound has been throwing around his voodoo doll like a chew toy, but needless to say he’s had a rough go of it. If he can play around his normal form, he’s a no-brainer for the top pairing.

Hronek cemented his status as a highly skilled young defender last season, getting quality reps in high pressure situations. He led the team in average time on ice with 23:23 (Any Jordan fans here?). He moves the puck with ease, and he rarely makes a costly mistake.

This top pairing should be locked in barring a tactical strike by the Injury Bug. It isn’t flashy, nor does it hold up against many other teams’ top defensemen, but the duo can manage ice time and move the puck up to the forwards. Limiting opponents’ shots will be the true test.

Pairing 2: Nick Leddy — Moritz Seider

Oh yeah, I’m calling it. This is pretty much a lock.

Leddy has the veteran defensive presence to help shape Seider’s game, and just about everyone knows it. He scored 31 points last season on an Islanders team that came a game away from a dance with Lord Stanley’s Cup, and he played plenty of minutes for that team. Of his 29 assists, 12 were primary, showing he can quarterback the attack. That production came with a much better team, but I think he posts similar totals this season. There are too many young wild cards on the Wings team to utilize.

Seider dominated in the IIHF World Championship, logging solid minutes each game and helping Germany finish fourth against much better competition. He also scored five assists in that tournament, showing he can handle NHL-level competition in a way his three seasons of professional hockey in Europe. He’s the big, right-handed shot that Stevie Y needs, and he’ll get every opportunity to become Detroit’s No. 1 D.

This pairing gives me plenty of hope as a Red Wings fan, and I’m excited to see where they stack up against the league’s best second pairings once the season starts. For the first time in a while, the Wings have plenty of highly-touted defensive depth. I can’t wait to see them tear it up.

Pairing 3: Jordan Oesterle — Troy Stetcher

This bottom pairing could see anybody play on it, but I think the new signing in Oesterle will get playing time over the 34-year-old veteran of Marc Staal. Stetcher looked like Detroit’s best defenseman at times last season, and he should log plenty of minutes.

Oesterle played decently on a depleted Arizona Coyotes team for the past three seasons. Analytically, he looks shaky. Compared to his teammates, he consistently fell in the bottom rungs for Corsi percentage. It’s an interesting stat to consider, but Yzerman wouldn’t sign him if he didn’t think he would improve the depth chart. He’ll play opening night certainly, but I see him getting benched down the stretch.

Speaking of st(r)etch, Stetcher played admirably last season. He logged plenty of ice time on the second pairing, but I think he’ll fall a bit considering the injection of good young talent on this roster. He’s a great shot blocker and he rarely goes to the box. That kind of even-keeled presence will be much needed on such an energetic and young team.

This pairing isn’t flashy, but it can munch away minutes as better players rest. This pairing will change all season, but for opening night, I see these two getting the nod.

Healthy Scratches: Marc Staal
Unfortunately, I don’t see Staal getting ice time on opening night. He was a depth signing for certain, and he’ll be a great locker room presence for younger players. I see him getting in some games throughout the season, and injuries will certainly create roster spots as it progresses.

Published by Connor Earegood

I am a high school student and aspiring amateur journalist. With more than 200 works published on The Eclipse, my high school's student newspaper, I love covering sports, arts and entertainment, and news. In addition, three of my stories have earned Best of SNO honors and were published on Student Newspapers Online's national news site. Feel free to comment on my work to help me grow.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started